Default Image
Decorative Element

Powerscourt Hotel Wins AA Hotel of the Year - Hospitality Ireland

Powerscourt Hotel Wins AA Hotel of the Year

The luxury Powerscourt Hotel in Co. Wicklow has been named as the AA Hotel of the Year 2015/16.

The awards ceremony was held in the Westbury Hotel last night (Wednesday), with Minister of State for Tourism Michael Ring presenting the gong to the hotel.

The five-star Powerscourt is owned by investment group Tetrarch, which took over the hotel in 2013. It opened in 2007 as the Ritz-Carlton, just before the hotel market tanked, and was thereafter seen as a cautionary tale of the boom years.

However, the AA said the hotel has been "on a transformative journey" since its takeover and rebrand. AA director of consumer affairs Conor Faughnan told the Irish Independent that since 2013 the hotel has "made huge strides".

Also recognised at the awards was The Red Door Country House in Co. Donegal which took home the 'Guest Accommodation of the Year' while the 'Courtesy & Care Award' went to The Lodge at Castle Leslie, Co. Monaghan.

Food blogger Niamh O'Shaughnessy won 'Foodie of the Year' and chef Jenny Flynn of Faithlegg House Hotel in Co. Waterford was awarded 'Delicious Dish of the Year' for her scallops and black pudding dish.